Men’s Trophy

The Aberdeen ‘Quaich’

Presented to the winning crew since 2000 it replaced the Beefeater and Ladbroke trophies that preceded it.

Designed by Rachel Hopkins and made by Nicholas Winton it includes several interesting features such as a map of the course on the interior of the Quaiche as well as a changeable finial on the top of the lid which is either an Ox or a Lion depending on who the holders of the trophy are at any given point in time.

Women’s Trophy

The Newton Trophy

Presented to the winning crew since 2014 it replaced the Francombe Cup that had been presented since 1936.

Commissioned from Silversmith Rod Kelly the base of the trophy includes symbols (Lion & Crown) representing the clubs involved as well as apples and scales representing the sponsors, Newton, who sponsored the trophy.

When they exhibited the trophies in 2022, Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge produced a brilliantly researched guide to the history of not just these trophies but of all the Boat Race trophies through the years, you can find it online here.